Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be

Throughout the world, disgraceful events have never ceased to draw public attention and provoke debates. Although there are numerous people believe that scandals should not be happened, others think those shameful incidents might spark controversies but might lead to change our ways of thinking and action. In my opinion, progressives could take advantage of those shameful incidents and pave the way for future reforms.

The Watergate scandal was a major federal political scandal in the United States involving the administration of President Richard Nixon from 1972 to 1974. The term Watergate has come to some illegal activities undertaken by members of the Nixon administration such as wiretapping political opponents or the harassment of activist groups. After the incident, rather than face impeachment, Richard Nixon resigned in 1974 and threaten to destroy the tapes. At the time, presidential records were still legally considered a president’s private property and Richard Nixon had the right to keep those tapes. As a stopgap measure, Congress passed the Presidential Recordings and Materials Preservation Act of 1974 to seize Nixon records pertaining to Watergate and government abuse and preserve them in National Archives.

On November 22, 1963, the world was shocked by the assasination of President John F. Kennedy. After hearing three gunshots, people in Dallas, Texas, saw Kennedy slumped in the backseat of his vehicle, which quickly accelerated to get to the nearest hospital; unfortunately, the President died before getting to the hospital. Then Vice President Lyndon B. Johnson was sworn in as the new President of the United States. The sorrowful event traumatized the nation and led a united Congress to make a constitutional change. By 1963, Congress was debating an attempt to amend the Constitution to clear up all the succession matters and add a procedure for dealing with a leader who became unable to perform office’s duty temporarily or permanently. With Kennedy’s unexpected death, the need for a clear way to determine presidential succession forced Congress to make the 25th amendment.

In conclusion, taking all the above-mentioned facts, it is reasonable to think that scandals would affect citizens’ life due to their advantages.