School should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.
The issue of whether the school should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood or they should
focus more on academic aspect of student is debatable one. Author asserts that school should focus more on preparing them
for the non-academic aspects of life which they will actually need in future.On the other hand this might affect academic performance
of a student. However, in the final analysis I agree with the author's claim as it has more advantages.
A main reason that, when school ends and student enters into adulthood very small population would be using what they have learnt in school
as part of their academics.However,skills which they will actually need after entering into the real world and what they have never learnt
in their school will be required.For example, Robert Kiyosaki, author of very famour book 'Rich Dad Poor Dad' says that the reason
why people who are academically very brilliant and are doctors and engineers, struggle with the financial crises at some point of life.
This is due to lack of financial education which they have not learned at any point in their life.School might teach how to earn money
but more imporatant thing is how to manage money.
Another compelling reason supporting author's opinion is that, Age range 8-16 is period where a person might afford
to make a mistake and learn from it. however, academics burdens student with so much pressure that they are discouraged
to innovate and research in the field they like.Telling example of it is of, Dhirubhai Ambani was an Indian business tycoon
and founder of Reliance business industries.Instead of not getting proper formal education he was able succeed in his life after failing multiple times.
if school focuses more on non-academic aspects, students at later stage in their life would be able to handle financial crises well
and hence, would live a better life.
Although,it's true that student must have a strong foundation of maths and scinece when he/she leaves school.but this should not come
with a cost of ignoring non academic aspect of life which will cost them for lifetime.
To sum up,while there are arguments to be made from both sides it is clear that there are greater advanatges in a view that
school should prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.hence I agree with author's viewpoint.