Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

This topic raises a controversial issue of weather scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people. Indisputably, every scientist or researcher should have right to choose whatever field of study they want to choose. Nevertheless, most of the researches chosen by the scientists and researchers are heavily funded by government with common people's tax money. Therefore, I believe that scientists should choose field of study which are likely to benefit greatest number of people.

First of all, when scientists and researchers focus on areas which are likely to benefit greater number of people, their possibility of success is more. I would like to point out that if finding solutions for a problem can benefit large number of people, there is a possibility that other scientist are working on that problem too, which increase the probability of solving the problem. To illustrate let us take an example of artificial intelligence. All top companies like Facebook, Tesla, Apple etc are working in this new field and trying to perfect this new technology. First, Apple started with Siri, Then came Echo by Amazon, and now Tesla is changing the future by inventing driverless cars. These driverless cars will not only save our time, but also help in reducing the road accidents. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that research areas that are likely to benefit greater number of people have more chance of success.

Furthermore, it is very common to hear that some or the other deadly disease is circulating a particular area and is spreading very fast. Specifically, few years back we heard of Swine flu and few months back we were hearing of Ebola virus. These deadly diseases can be cured when the great minds focus in these areas. Both common sense and personal experience has told us that these diseases should be eradicated as soon as possible for the betterment of mankind. Not only these comparatively new diseases, but one of the most known disease "AIDS" has not been able to be cured yet. Due to lack on knowledge about the STD's in rural areas, it is very common that these diseases emerge in rural areas and then spread to other areas. Greater number of scientists and researchers focus on this area greater will be the probability of finding the solution for this deadly disease. Hence, all the evidence above demonstrates that these great minds should focus on areas which can benefit greater number people.

Admittedly, there are other areas which cannot benefit greater number of people but are in interest of specific scientist and researchers. This is true specifically when these great minds are working to invent new hi-tech weapons for their country. In addition, these weapons can be used for the country's defense at the time of war. However, the above argument does not constitute a sufficient support to claim that scientist and researchers should not focus on areas where greater number of people are benefitted.

In conclusion, although there are some areas where greater number of people are not benefited and can be focused, most of the areas should benefit greater number of people.