Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

I agree that government should make efforts to save endangered species. Since there are too many animals that are going to extinction, we can't save all of them. Therefore, we should start from those are almost extinct due to human activities.

The animal diversity is important for the ecosystem and the entire society. With poor diversity, the ecosystem is easy to collapse. By saving some endangered species, we can maintain the diversity to some extent. For example, if there isn't enough grass for zebras to eat, then all the zebras would die. As a result, the lions could probably die at the same time since zebras are their major source for food. Also, the diversity could probably boost scientific progress in the future. For example, we can do research on the mechanism of some animals that can resist extremely cold weather to know how to prepare for some dramatic climate changes.

However, the cost is important to evaluate whether a policy is reasonable or not. It is not practical to save all the endangered species since we need to spend a lot of money and hire so many experts. Thus, we need to decide which species should have higher priorities to save. One of the reasonable indicator is that whether the extinction is caused by human. For example, if the habitat of a certain kind of frog is damaged because we clear up all of the woods in that area for constructing a hotel, it is our responsibility to keep them from extinction.

Someone would argue that we should decide which animal to save by measuring the profit they could generate. If some more adorable ones can attract people to buy the zoo tickets, we should save them first in oder to make money. However, it is difficult for us to exactly measure their importance to the entire ecosystem. For example, if a kind of birds may have an ugly face, but prey on some insects that could eat the crops, it is obviously that their value can't be determined by their appearance or whether they are more attractable.

To conclude, I agree that human should make our best efforts to keep species from extinction. However, due to the limitation of our capability, we can't save all of them. Therefore, those which go into extinction because of human activities should have higher priorities.