Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Many college students suffer from having to choose their field of study because this choice may affect their whole career. What type of career should the students decide may differ depending on what they value the most. I believe both of the opinions could be applicable based on their past experiences.

First of all, some people would asseverate that college students should follow their heart and pursue their talents and interests in choosing a field. However, this may be too idealistic compared to the harsh reality. Even if a student is extraordinarily exceptional in a certain field, if none of the people are interested and are willing to hire the student, his/her abilities would be of no use. If so, maybe it is more effective for the student to pursue both the field he/she would like to divulge in and the field that has a great potential of getting hired in the future. For example, many senior high school students in South Korea tend to pursue the study areas they always had desired of, because they had suffered long enough from the pressure of having to study only the monolithic curriculum. However, after attending the college with anticipation, they watch the examples of other forerunners in the field and realize the stark reality of having to experience difficulties in getting hired. Eventually, the students start searching for fields that has a large pool of employment and pursue such field of study as their second major. As in this reality, it may not be germane to advise students to only pursue their interests when choosing a major in college.

Similarly, it is also not apropos to advise students to only follow the study areas that would easily get them hired regardless of their interests or talents. Each fields requires different thinking abilities and each individuals usually consist only one that is the highest among the thinking abilities. For example, people who are erudite in science may be wanting in artistic abilities, while those who are bright in literature may be maladroit in gymnastics. Forcing such students to only follow paths that are guaranteed to have a large pool of employment would lead them to getting immense amount of stress and depression. They would suffer with having to follow up with those who are prodigious in such fields, always a reminder that they don't blend in the area. This would cause them to become desperate and devastated, undercutting the will to stay motivated and making them catapult into the abyss. If so, it would be more satisfying for students to pursue both the field that is apposite for them, and the field that guarantees employment.

Last but not least, the choices the students should make may differ based on their past experiences and it is most apropos for them to just pursue what seems most effective. For example, if a student is born in a family that is impecunious, it may be germane for students to first choose a major that has a high opportunity to earn money right after graduation. On the contrary, for students who does not have any predicaments that may force them to choose a major based on external pressure, it would be apposite for them to choose based on their interests. For both types of students, they do not always have to stick with their choices, they can always pursue either way whenever they have the chance.

To sum up, having students to only pursue in a certain way may not be germane based on their prior life. Moreover, there is always an option of choosing either fields as a second major. Due to such reasons, I believe the college students should compromise between the two fields and choose what may be suitable for them.