Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field Writ

Determining the major in the university is important issue. Because its repercussion for the future is considerable. In fact, in the modern society, there are enormous jobs which take part of the society. Due to the diversity, it seems to be impossible to set up only one standard to decide the students' field of study.

In case of the fields that mainly focuses on the scholar purposes, it is efficacious for students to consider solely their interests and talents when they decide their major. Because the fundamental goal of the scholars is not to generate huge amount of money but to actualize their interests about the field based on the talents. For example, the philosophy is notorious of the disability in earning money. However, the interests of the philosophers are far from the remunerative future. What they want to know through their studies is the ground of the diverse kinds of the knowledge, including metaphysics, ethics, and ontology. As we can see from the example, the gaining profit is less important issue for the scholars in various fields, If some student considers to be a scholar, it is better to concentrate on their talents and interests related with the field for their studying.

However, when students wish to establish their careers in the field largely focusing on the earning money,

the availability of jobs is important. Because depending on the availability the opportunities to generate financial advantages vary. Unless they widely consider the many factors in regard with the future job availability, the students would suffer difficulty in finding jobs. For instance, if a student wants to be a IT engineer, the student should consider diverse things including other people's interests. Regardless of the student's talents and interest, the demand of the field can be changed. So that in the event that the students want to get profitable job, they should not only focus on their talents and interests.

Admittedly, some people may worry that the expectation can be wrong because of the rapid change of the modern society. However, even though the detailed prediction for the future situation can be wrong easily, overall trend is comparatively predictable. For example, nobody could exactly foresee the present situation of the IT field in decade age. However, almost people could exactly expect that the jobs related with the computer will be flourished. Therefore, still when students are looking for the profitable jobs, they should consider several elements which would influence the future situation.

All in all, the consideration of the future job should be different according to the fields the students hope. For the young who want to be a scholar, the job availability is not salient thing to consider. However, if the student want to be someone who can earn a lot of money, then they should think of many things beyond their own interests and talents.