Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

An effective leader is one who adheres to his/her principles, and objectives even in the times when they disagree with the public. However, in the realms of our discussion, we cannot overlook scenarios where yielding to the public is beneficial.

First, every person has his/her own principles and mores: It is these ethics that define and identify a leader.

If a person doesn't adhere to what he/she believes in - then the identity of the person is jeopardized. The people

should look upto a leader who, however, can guide them in the right direction for the prosperity of the society. If the objectives

of the public and the leader are the same, then there will be no friction between the leader and the public. What if the motives of the - public and the leader are not aligned in the same direction? What if the public is wrong and the leader should succumb to the will of the public? Only an effective leader who strongly adheres: to what he/she believes can convince the public that what they believe is wrong and can steer them in the right direction.

Second, do you give your 100% to achieve something that you don't believe in? The answer is definitely no. on the contrary, Only when a person strongly believes - in what he/she does will they surpass unsurmountable heights. In politics, a person will have to sacrifice everything - time, money, and even family. Therefore, A person will oblige to sacrifice everything only when he/she truly believes in the cause they fight for. However, If the leader does not believe in what he/she is fighting for and is only doing so to please the mob, it is very highly - unlikely that the leader will achieve anything substantial. Thus, The public will look: upto the leader as a saviour. Both the public and the leader will have to settle for a subliminal, outcome when the leader does not believe, in what he/she fights for.

Having said that, there can be scenarios where the objectives: of the public and the leader may not be aligned in the same direction. For example, one of the local body representatives in my village planned to place a total lockdown to contain the spread of an epidemic in the village. But the public was not willing to oblige - to the mandate as most of them live on daily wages and the lockdown was affecting their livelihood. The President had no other choice but to relax the lockdown rules so that the poor could mitigate their hardships.

To sum up, I personally believe that for someone to be an effective leader, he/she should strongly adhere to what they believe in as it - is these ethics that define a person and will prod them to achieve something that, is truly remarkable for, the people to whom they intend to serve.