Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently

As a political leader, it it very imporntant for him to be meticulous when he is making descisions. All these selection he made could be extremly inffluential to the public.Someone suggest the policitcal leaders should make compromise with the publice with the lost of principle, but I don't think it is neccesary to do this as a political leader must be confident for himself. People voting for him also becasuce of his conficence of making choice while not a public opinion blender all the time.

First of all, a political leader is a strong individual as he is on behalf of the people. As a symbol of power, he must insist on himself in the ocassion that may break the principle. When London was bombed to crashes, Winston Churhchill, the Prime Minister, urged the people of the nation to fight back:" we fight from streets, we fight fromr hills, we fight from our home, and NEVER NEVER NEVER GIVE UP" , this famous speech inspired from kids to the Queen to fight against the Nazi Germany Troops, the peolpe of england "keep calm and carry on" to make a miracle that won against Hitler.

Another reason is that the public may not know the truth of some business. To be more effective, as a leader,he is the only one to balance affairs as a whole. Another story also come from president, the President Roosevelt. As the War II went worse and Nazi was about to win the war, the President Roosevelt considered the importance that the US should help european countries to fight against Germany, but the congress, do not know the emergency of the situation in europe and antiwar thought was on the stage,did not validate this policy. As he got informed about the Pear Harbor may be attacked before it really happened, the President did not take measure to defend, as the tragedy took place, the congress found the importance of fight back, then the US army went to battle immediately. With the help of the US, we won the War II.

On the contrary, I do not address the idea that a political leader should be a dictator who control everything, here comes the importance of the congress, as we can disucuss interal an international affairs together in a peaceful time. The leader should listen to the public when it comes with economy and publice life affairs.

In conclusion, I think the political leader shoule insist the principle more than yield to the public. As this is what a successful and high-efficiency political leader is.