Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely alig

As far as I concern, I certainly agree with the purpose of education is to free our minds and spirits instead of restraining them. Of course, there are someone who asserts that the formal education would confine one's imagination or minds. To make it clear, I believe it will depends on the fields which you have learned when we discuss this controversial essay. As a luck dog, I will address my views with points below.

To begin with, this is not the first time when I as a Chinese student who suffered from our intensive studying for decades , which seems there is no obvious changes in the future in that there are too many students in our country, that means the competition will be still rigorous. For example there are over 40 thousand people take the GRE test annually, this number is just an Test which not so many chinese know, let alone our college entrance examination. What I give these examples all depict the serious competitions in China,almost everywhere.Due to the imbalance development of China, we have to compete with each other by exams, this means the unanimous education is significant to our country, we have no choice, this is relatively just for everyone in China. As we all know, Chinese educaiton is one of the most controversial educations in the world which inevitably restrain one's minds and spirits by exams.

However, there are still lots of talents and eminent students who enrolled in fantastic universities by this rigorous way in China, most of them made great contribution to either our homeland or broads. Here is another case of this essay that one should learn to adapt to the environment he live. Given the pressure of studying ,some of the students yield to the study while some of them find the way to master the courese they have to. After enrolling the Universities, there is another scene. The students under the guidance of tutors have to go on with themselves, this is the showtime of minds and spirits.So in China , the students have to go through a hadr course before they entering the universities, while this dose not mean they are restrained by the formal education, instead, with the basic knowledge they had learned in the schools, we are equiped with them to gain more knowldege. In this way, the formal education is argubly a key to high-education. In othet word, one can not learn the knowledeg in high-education institution without the formal education, ther are cohesive that they both play significant roles in different stages in the studying.

Finally, some courese will liberate our minds and spirits rather than confining them like English, some students failed in reciting englishi words, then they would not find the world out side our country is so glamorous. I still remember when I read" I have a dream" by Martin Luther King in English version for the first time, his advocative speech inspired not only the colored people but also every one in the world to fight for the rights of their own, with out learning English, I centainly could not know this speech at all.

In conclusion, I belive this essay depends on the stage where the students are. For the students who have not entered the universities, the formal would be some kind of restrain for them while they should make clear, they will be freed in minds and spirits by this way that the formal education proveided, it's hard, while lots of people as well as myself benefit from the formal education when we were young, that is the tool for us to be truly free.