Some people believe that society should try to save every plant and animal species, despite the expense to humans in effort, time and financial well-being. Others believe that society need not make extraordinary efforts, especially at a great cost in money and jobs, to save endangered species.

Awed by the large scale of global ecology, geologists are often keen to believe that the gradual transformation of Earth has not much relationship with human activity. In contrast, however, biologists who are looking at grandiose changes of decades contend that the influence of human forces has gained its weight to an unimaginable amount. The statement shows how both positions differ, requiring us wary vigilance. The thesis of this essay states as follows that it is not less safe to emphasize the importance of biodiversity rather than diffidently turning our faces against the issue due to possible costs.

Admittedly, for the others who argue that taking effort to restore biodiversity requires a significant amount of costs in practical issues, fulfilling basic standards of living should be focused on the most. That is, if imminent shortcomings are predicted in the near future, the priority is to resolve the problems and take pragmatic steps such as recovering financial bankruptcy or alleviating unemployment. For instance, in cases where the significant spread of Avian Influenza has resulted in tremendous loss of human infrastructure, the government cannot help but implement a mass disposal of chicken that are infected. Thus certain circumstances allow only a single option - the perseverance of human species or championing human resources over other animal or plant species - because of the imminence of disastrous effects.

Nevertheless, society is responsible for preserving as many natural species as it can simply because most of the catastrophe on earth has happened mainly due to the destructive behavior of human species during the last several centuries. Take, for example, the massive extinction of endangered species due to global warming and environmental change. It is almost fully revealed that industrial exploitation is one of the major culprits of the recent climate change. Many environmentalists throughout the world have started to take significant political action in order to stop destroying the ecosystem. That is, notwithstanding the substantial costs for taking initiatives to preserve endangered species, responsibility lies on the society due to its past commitment in environmental destruction.

Furthermore, saving as much as natural species and protecting a diverse ecosystem not only helps the human species to survive on resources but accelerates a flourishing culture and a promising future for our descendants. Throughout history, human civilization has depended upon agricultural resources and hunting plants of species. This means that without natural resources human species are not able to survive even a single second on the coarse planet called Earth. We ourselves are parasites of the globe, relying on nutritious resources. Thus, in order to maintain our survival we need to consistently be aware of the fact that the natural resources and living species do not lose their original track. In addition, by guaranteeing sustainable resonance with other species, human cultures can be vitalized through the aesthetical and educational value of nature.

We may now conclude that taking efforts to eco diversity is worth implementing despite the potential costs in practical approaches. While in the short-term the cost may seem significant, residing among a well-balanced nature shall bring long-term prosperity.