Some people believe that society should try to save every plant and animal species, despite the expense to humans in effort, time, and financial well-being. Others believe that society need not make extraordinary efforts, especially at a great cost in money and jobs, to save endangered species.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

I believe that society should make an honest effort to conserve the biodiversity of this planet. It is essential to save the plethora of plant and animal species, and maintain an ecological balance. If this involves the utilization of extra effort, time and finances, then it should definitely be employed.

The homo sapiens are undoubtedly the smartest species on planet Earth. We have made great strides in the way we lead our lives. From inventing better, faster ways of transportation to settling communities in faraway lands; we have achieved a lot in our lifespan. But, on the way we have disrupted the fine ecological balance of the planet as well. These human feats have led to shocking disruptions in the habitats of various plants, birds and animals. This has led to several species becoming extinct and still others on the verge of extinction which we classify as endangered. By encroaching upon their geographic area, spreading pollution, contaminating their habitats we have treated our beautifully rich flora and fauna with utter disregard. This absolute indifference to conserve the natural environment has seen an increase in lot of man made disasters the biggest example of which is global warming. Hence, it is all the more reason that humans should expend some effort into rectification of this problem. Our natural resources, once depleted or extinct, cannot be replenished by any human effort. Therefore, we should dig into our compassion for our fellow inhabitants of the planet and try to conserve them.

It is important to maintain the biodiversity of the planet since the interaction of various species with one another is like an intricate clockwork. Any imbalance or disruption can lead to various deleterious effects all round, which can also translate to a huge threat to human life in the future. Every animal and plant species has its special place in the grand scheme of things. The disturbance in the food change can destroy the whole ecosystem. It was said by Einstein that if the honeybee becomes extinct then it will be a few years before the whole human race perishes. Honeybees seem like a very insignificant species which seemingly does not have such a huge influence on human existence. But they play the very important role of pollinating various flowers which contributes in a huge part to the varieties of fruits and vegetables we consume. If they were to go extinct our food options will get seriously restricted. Similarly, the endangered status of various other species acts like a warning signal to us to pay attention to the harm we are inflicting on nature.

The idea of spending so much effort, time and money on saving some obscure species might seem absurd to few groups of people. After all, we can spend all that money for better services for ourselves like better healthcare, investment in public infrastructure or in the creation of jobs for people. Investing in these might seem directly more beneficial. But it is a frankly selfish thought. Nature has a way of balancing without human intervention. But if we toy with nature, then we have to go out of way to set everything right as well. Planet Earth is the only body in the whole universe which supports human life. If we start losing habitable conditions then there will be nobody left to worry about jobs and money.

Hence, we should not take the threat to our ecosystem lightly. After all, money can be generated and economies can be rebuilt. But it difficult to replicate nature and revive extinct species.