True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

When is one said to be successful? When he achieves something that is called a success by others? Or when he achieves something that is considered a success by oneself? The prompt suggests that a true success can be measured in terms of the goals one sets for oneself and not by others. I agree with the prompt and feel that one should consider successful if he is able to achieve the goals set by himself rather than trying to achieve goals set by someone else.

Firstly, I grew up being told by my parents about the success of different people in my locality as well as about the people all around the world. They used to tell me how my neighbor worked hard to become a doctor and became successful, how a wretched person toiled through his teenages and 20s to become the mose successful businessman in India and so on. Thus, I formed a misconception very early in my age that one is said to have achieved success only when they achieve the goals set by the society. Anything short of that is not considered successful.And so I went chasing after these goals set by the society. I worked day and night, kept cursing myself for not being diligent enough in achievning them and finally conquered them after spending quite a lot of time in pursuing them but at the same time deteriorating my health. I then started to introspect on what I had done and realised that it was due to the fallacious notion that I considered myself successful only if I meet the expectations of the society. As one can see, I person can have a detrimental effect both psychologically and physically if they try to pursue goals set by others as one may not be able to achieve them as easily as others due to intrinsic capabilities.

Secondly, by setting aside the goals set by the surrounding people and focusing only on the goals that you would like to achieve can make you feel confident about yourself. Having self-confidence can facilitate one to enjoy the life to its fullest. It makes a difference on how you perceive different situations, on how you treat others and on how you take life in general. Since, life is more than just achieving goals, one can lead a tranquil and a happy life sharing joy with family and friends when one considers himself successful upon achieving goals set by oneself and not by the society or by someone else.

Some might argue that one can be called successful only when the society declares so. However, it does not matter how the society considers you but how you consider yourself. In the end, it is your well being and happiness that matters and not how happy the society is about you.

To recapitulate, it is important to be aware of your interests and work towards them as world around you may be having different ambitions and you don't find happiness in pursuing those ambitions. It is how you see yourself that matters.