Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

University curriculum is very important in shaping the future lives of students, especially undergraduate students. It cultivates ideas and opinions in students that reap their benefits a couple of decades later. It forms the basis of many opinions that these students will hold in their future lives while working in the corporate world. The author of the prompt assumes that these courses will only be an academic burden on students and hence should be avoided but I hold a different view.

If an undergrad doing his major in Computer Science has taken humanities courses like Modern literature, it finally helps in shaping him as a better all-round individual and further helps in the holistic development of the student. Humanities courses like Psychology, Philosophy etcetera develop new ideas and first principles that helps the student in his future endeavors. Moreover, courses like Philosophy teaches students the art of abstract thinking and how to form and use first principles which will help them immensely in their future lives.

Although, there are certain disadvantages of studying humanities courses while doing a business or a science major, as it leads to more academic pressure, an increase in tuition fees and a longer time to complete their bachelor's degree. But with these cons comes pros like holistic development of the student and well-grounded ideas in the student which will help him immensely in his further career.

In conclusion, we can say that although studying humanities while pursuing an undergraduate degree in business or finance will be taxing, but the long term benefits outweigh the short term costs and so it is advisable that undergraduate students should do humanities courses.