To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The statement establishes that major cities offer defining characteristics and insights into their countries playing on how in media they seem to supplant the nation itself. In travel brochures for different nations, these municipalities take center stage often filling the advert. Often times such metropolises have large concentrations of individuals in all stages of social status offering a rich diversity in opulence. Outsiders and insiders alike regard such cities as the paragon for their respective nations.

By attributing the main idiosyncrasies of society to the few grandiose towns, the statement marginalizes the broad majority of towns that make up the rest of the nation. For example, in the United States, the largest cities only have about a million inhabitants. This seems like a vast number, but in actuality, it is quite minuscule compared to the 300 million people who live in the nation. Irrespective of this shortcoming, highly populated locations offer rich, diverse experiences that illuminate the major characteristics of a given culture.

First, major cities have more people compared to other smaller towns. This does not only include inhabitants but due to events and resources, big cities tend to draw people from neighboring cities for recreation as well. For example, large companies such as Facebook tend to send employees to large cities such as San Francisco business and fun. With large congregations of people come large congregations of ideas and cultural events. For example, conventions tend to take place in large cities such as Los Angeles or San Diego, home to the world-renowned Comic-Con which exemplifies how new events regarding the arts are revealed and distributed. These large events culminate in a society’s characteristics and cannot be ignored. Therefore, due to the presence of people and events, major cities offer great insight into the region's societal attributes.

Also, large towns often have great historic value as many started off as the first towns in their respective nations and contain many government buildings as well. For example, the history and attitude of US politics are always at full display in the nation’s capital. Important national decisions and announcements take place there along with a well-documented reel of past nation highlights in the form of parks and monuments. Ignoring a capital in the study of a nation would be omitting the political attitude and attributes of the given society. Hence, the historical significance of a metropolis allows one to understand the most important parts of a society as well.

Thus, to understand the major elements of a society one cannot ignore its massive cities. Such locations offer many cultural events that give insight into attitudes regarding the arts. Furthermore, they contain rich pasts which give insights into how thought has progressed over time and what was important enough to be remembered.