To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

I can only agree with part of this statement. There are some reasons in the following paragraphs.

First of all, people always get some impression from major cities in another Country. These cities include New York City in the United States, Toronto in Canada, Sydney in Australia, Beijing, and Shanghai in China, etc. These cities have some common characteristics, such as a developed economy, open to all the countries, have beautiful scenery and famous tour cities, etc. Some important features are infant rate and death rate, average lifetime, etc, they are unwise. From these city lists, you can found that New York City has people from all over the country, there are too many different customs and it can only represent part of America. In fact, there are so many different style states in the USA. New York, Toronto, Sydney, Shanghai, etc, these cities almost mean freedom. If you want to look for the most important characteristics of a society, you should research smaller cities.

Secondly, if you try to understand the health level of these major cities, it might not accurate. Because air pollution is very serious in some big cities. The air pollution in New York City is more serious than other cities, but it cleaner than Beijing or another major city. Some people have not very well health in the serious pollution area.

Finally, as everyone knows, Shanghai is a developed city and China is a developing country. If you only study Shanghai, you will not understand some under low-income cities. In fact, the major cities are a special case.

To sum up, we should study these major cities and these cities are representative, but if people want to understand the most important characteristics of a society, only study these cities is not enough.