To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Society as it presents is a complex integration of different ethics and religious propensity which depicts their norms and values. The prompt recommends that only the major cities can cite the important characters of the society be it the historical background or their institutional functioning. In my opinion, I moderately agree with the prompt as every civilization and culture has its own method of molding and evolving with time.

To begin, in the past most of the kingship and monarch reside in the cities, thereby following with the cultural diversity and representing its values. For example, The Kathmandu valley has always been the centre of attraction since the time immemorial. The valley which represents the cultural diversity at its best is also popularly known as ‘City of temples’, fortifying the cultural evolution of native residents also called as ‘newars’. Studying this city can certainly edify one with the cultural and religious dimension of this city, starting from its people to the monuments and artistic beauty carved in every nooks and corners. The native residents are peculiar to this city saving and representing their culture and the culture of this city as a whole.

However, studying the valley alone is not enough to understand the persisting diversity as whole. Nepal is more diverse than just studying one ethnic group. The cultural propensity is on the verse of modification because of modernization and urbanization in major cities of the country. So it is necessary to search in the rural areas where social practices and cultural beliefs are still on act and well protected. The modernizing societies of the cities tend to devalue the cultural heritage causing it to deteriorate and eventually fade away, however, the rural hold its value as pristine and it was previously hold. Perhaps, the cities have cultural representation but their commercial and modernized philosophies and practices have adulterated its essence and norms.

Further, rural areas represent the real face and function of the culture. For example, the mystic view of Ghalegaun. A small village in Nepal is primal in saving the cultural diversity of Nepal as a whole. Representing the local ethnic society and promoting the cultural conservation, it is one of the major village where societal characteristic of then and now Nepal can be analyzed and understood. Similarly, the rural areas of Baitadi and Bajura are other major places where culture and society of real Nepal can be seen, their dimensions can be analyzed and persisting unity in diversity can be understood.

Cities can be a representation of the society but the cultural ethos and values can only be preserved in the rural areas as most of the urban areas are prone to modernization and urbanization. Rural areas represent the real face of the society, its cultural heritage and development through time.