To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Study of any society is a major task for anyone to achieve, if they are not the part of that society. The prompt is also mentioning about the same idea that is given in the above sentence. However, I mostly disagree with this position for two main reasons. But I do concede that, to have a better understanding of any society, one must have to give attention to every possible scenario.

First of all, character of any society is defined by how the locality of that particular area is behaving. One must look after each and every minute details, like how the people of that society is behaving within themselves. For example, let’s talk about Indian culture. If we have to study the culture of the society located to the southern part of India, then we must visit that particular place or a society rather than roaming here and there at the northern part of the country. Each and every society that belongs to a country may have different characteristics which might not be complementary with another culture.

Furthermore, for having better knowledge about the characteristics of any society, one must focus on its culture and rituals instead of focusing on any other irrelevant sources. The understanding of the society is solely based on the character of the people belonging to the society. Understanding about the major rituals and visiting to the sacred place would give better idea about how the character of society is. For instance, people in India celebrate the major festival called "dushehera", where they worship the lord Rama and during the same period the people in their society burns the prototype of the evil called Ravana. But it is just done reversely in the country Srilanka, where the people worship Ravana and they thought evil to be Lord Ram. It's just about the culture, how they are differing within the society.

However, to have better understanding about the characteristics of a society, one must have to give major attention to each and every other possibility where they can grab the knowledge. One must have better idea about how those culture is differing within the country or not. For the sake of better knowledge of the culture, one must visit each and every cities of a country to have sound knowledge of the characteristics of a society.

To conclude, for the better understanding of the characteristics of a society, one should give focus on every possible outcome rather than relying on just less sources.