Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sur

In today’s immensely competitive work environment, gaining expertise in one area has become paramount. A civil engineering student specializing in designing of structures works with computer aided tools to design structures in an office building, whereas someone majoring in the same field but specializing in construction management works on the site. However, even a structural engineer needs to know about construction techniques and practical issues on the site to come up with better solutions.

Knowledge of subjects other than the area of specialization opens up multiple avenues for a student. For example, computer programming is now being often cited as the literacy of the 21st century. Prior to the computer era, how hard it must have been to construct refineries having interface from different engineering departments. But the technology now has enabled us to see detailed 3D simulations of structures and buildings on our computers. Traditional engineers with the help of computer programming are coming up with such innovative solutions which wouldn’t have been possible without exposure to courses outside major fields of study.

Another advantage, multidimensional learning confers upon students is the ability to choose careers in which they are really interested. Sometimes, students choose a major field of study which does not synchronize with their abilities or talents. For example, a civil engineering student, having access to courses in Architecture, finds himself more intrigued by design rather than mathematical calculations.

Though allowing students to do courses outside major field of study, universities should not make them strictly compulsory. Making courses in humanities compulsory is fine but universities should allow students to opt outside courses by their choice. Afterall, the main point behind allowing outside courses is to give students a varied exposure.

In conclusion, it would be beneficial for students to have multidimensional learning only if they are allowed to choose what they want to study.