Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sur

Education has become one of the most important aspects of human development. Without education, a number of discoveries and achievements made in the history of humanity would never have been possible. The importance of education cannot be neglected, which makes the job of the government and universities in deciding on a curriculum for the students evermore important.

Like every coin, the suggestion put forth has two sides as well. While it is understood that introducing a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study or interest would distract him from what is actually important to his course, it could have a lot more benefits than expected. If a variety of courses are introduced to a student at an age where he hasn’t decided a major yet or hasn’t developed an interest in a particular field, the various courses might help him give a broad perspective of different fields and help him/her make up his mind. It is essential for every student to pursue a field he is passionate about. Giving students a general idea might help them narrow down their interests and furthermore help them make a right decision regarding a career path.

In addition to this thought, the introduction of a variety of courses might also help give students an understanding of subjects besides his own liking. For example, a student who is introduced to statistics as a subject but wants to pursue a course in biology might still benefit from learning the basics of statistics. A general idea of statistics might help him in drawing conclusions based on raw data related to his biology course. A general understanding of statistics might also help him in day to day calculations. To say that a student may not need statistics at all in his life might be an over exaggeration. Similarly, subjects not relevant to a student’s coursework might still do a lot more good than harm.

Furthermore, if students are completely given freedom to choose subjects of their own liking then there might be a situation where a lot of students gravitate towards easier or more interesting subjects. If students are introduced to subjects that usually suffer from a general hatred just because of their boring or tedious nature, some students might actually change their minds about such subjects. A common example would be that it is common that many students dislike the study of economics, however, economics is vital to the development of any nation. If students opt out of economics as a subject, then progress in terms of economics might be hampered. On the contrary, if students are introduced with basic level economics they might even enjoy it.

Although, after a certain age or level, students should be given the liberty to focus on their subject of interest to develop more affinity towards it. Specialisation in any subject always leads to greater results. Universities must determine for themselves up to what age/level they must mandate students to take up necessary courses. A balance between making a variety of courses mandatory and giving students the liberty to choose subjects of their own liking would prove to be the most effective way to help the students as well as make decisions that might prove beneficial to the society or a country as a whole.