Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing and supporting

Universities design their curriculum in such a way that it would prepare the student in the long run after graduation. They can find a relevant job in their respective field. For this, the universities decide specific eligibility criteria for a particular course so that only deserving candidates can enroll in such courses which would be conducive to complete the course successfully after which they would develop the relevant skills to work in that area. I disagree with the claim that universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

The students would indeed grow in that field in which they are interested to study. But we should also keep this in mind that while we are student, we are unsure about our taste and temperaments. Students change their temperaments very frequently. Sometimes, under peer pressure, they opt for very abstruse courses for which they do not fulfill the prerequisites. As the result, in the end, they have to drop from the courses due to poor grades. Therefore, only considering prerequisites they should be assigned the courses rather than solely based on their interest in the study.

Indeed, universities should not be too much obstinate about the fixed structure of the curriculum. If the student is not having a keen interest in studying a particular topic, he/she must be given the flexibility of choosing the desired course if the student satisfies the desired eligibility. If someone is not having an interest in a particular course, he/she will not able to do good in that area. It will impede their holistic academic performance. They will get bad grades and will not be able to develop the required skill set. To illustrate, Albert Einstein did not like history, as it was a mandatory course, he had to drop himself off from school. Then he pursued science as his passion and in the end, he made an impact in society. He is now remembered as the godfather of physics. The student will be happy to do what they like to do. Thus, they should be allowed to take courses which they like to study. The curriculum should be flexible.

As the course prerequisite is essential to cope up with the course in the long run. I reject the statement that universities should allow students to take courses which they like to study or having a keen interest to study.