The video camera provides such an accurate and convincing record of contemporary life that it has become a more important form of documentation than written records.

Most of the people are of the opinion that video camera presents the details of the present-day lifestyle with great precision and hence are able to persuaded the viewers of its authenticity. On the other hand, there are a few people who believe that the written form of recordings of any event are more genuine as compared to the video. I agree with the speaker’s viewpoint to a great extent. My inclination towards the same will be detailed in the ensuing paragraphs.

To begin with, the foremost reason why I connect with the author’ s opinion is that they are of vital use in the legal proceedings. Nowadays, the surveillance cameras at offices, supermarkets, banks, railway stations, airports etc. record the minutest details with accuracy and provide a strong evidence in the heinous cases like murder, robbery, sexual harassment, drug trafficking etc. Another area where the video cameras are used is to record live events such as concerts, matches, business convocations, etc. as it is requisite to record every single moment of such events. An apt example of this is a game of cricket in which it is essential to record complete proceedings of the tournament in order to prevent any bias towards any team and review decisions made by umpire.

The secondary reason why I agree with the author’s standpoint is that video recordings are quite informative in nature. For instance, we cannot get a correct picture about the lifestyle of the wild animals just by studying in the textbooks. A video describing about their habitats, hunting style, etc. would give a more descriptive information and may help to understand their living patterns in a better way. Moreover, the video camera has enabled people to store their memories of various important occasions of their lives such as birthday, weddings, etc. so that they can replay them at a later stage in their lives. These recordings store the emotions of the people and make them go down the lane of nostalgia every time they are played which cannot be done by any form of written documents.

On the contrary, there are numerous benefits of the written records as well. The most prominent use of such form of data are the legal documents such as will, contract papers, etc. where there is a formal agreement involving two parties. Furthermore, the video cameras are quite expensive and are not affordable to many people who prefer the written documents because they are cost effective. They are also efficient to carry to different places as compared to the video cameras which are quite burdensome to carry because they are bulky. They are also helpful when the need arises to maintain a daily note of a specific incident. For example, a teacher can know about the progress made by her student over a span of time by recording the student’s responses in her register.

Thus, to conclude the discussion I would like to say that in the present scenario, the video cameras will be certainly more beneficial as compared to the written form of documentation because of the exact details of any occurrence elicited by them. However, the use of the written records is are also useful in recording some form of data and they are not going to be obsolete till a long period.