Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

We are all familiar with disciplinary phrases from our older generations that we should not waste time in useless, penniless activities but rather have to commit ourselves to self-improvement in order to realize goals that will bring long-term benefit. This approach stands upon the binary between idealism and practicalism, as the former tends to be passionate but harmful, while the latter seems to be realistic but banal. Considering both the cons and pros of these characteristics in terms of life management, this essay will provide insightful evidence in support of acquiring a balancing perspective.

Firstly, setting goals that are long-term and realistic consists of the basis of pursuing a healthy life management. We can not help but take serious consideration into fully being responsible to ourselves when planning for our future. That is, lucrativeness and sustainability may be a crucial factor in choosing one’s career. Thus, self-assessment is required in order to acknowledge one’s limit and potential in terms of achieving the goals that are being set. Encouraging individuals who are willing to take part in a society by putting efforts for practical issues such as economic stability and cultural well-being shall be a merit to the society itself, as individuals will be strongly affiliated in the particular community.

However, looking at the idiosyncrasy of the “young” generation, it shall also be a puerile attitude to limit one’s perspectives only to practical issues. Society stands on the consistent phase of flux in which the youth had always been an influential remonstrator in revising the pre given rules. The boon bestowed to the young generation is that they are not yet strongly connected to the fixity of society, which is what they have to facilitate the most. Although for the elderly it may seem too risky to commit oneself to unrealistic goals, young people should have the choice for the alternatives as their life is still open-ended.

Furthermore, immediate fame and recognition can be not as misleading as it seems, as it is a factor that propels a strong passion and active behavior. Social influence is a desirable tenet that one shall pursue, as it is the sense of being connected to a broader world. Especially when considering the hyper network and various forms of communication nowadays, grasping the opportunities to gain reputation by utilizing one’s skill in self-presenting is not so unrealistic as it originally seemed like. For example, a well-known artist group called Daft Punk started their career quite early in their lifetime, exposed to numerous attractions of club culture at the time. Instead of turning their attention to the already established realm, they risked themselves by showing their pioneering styles of music which pulled them up to the current reputation. As media allows opportunities to maximize one’s communicative skills and show one’s uniqueness in personality and ability, young people are encouraged to focus on the idealistic pursue as well.

To conclude, it is crucial not to be stuck only in a single perspective in terms of planning, managing, and also enjoying one’s life. Both attitudes should be attained in order to have a balancing approach, so that the youth may be alive and healthful to the whole society as well. (532 words)