Over the years, the car ownership has increased significantly. This has caused many cities around the globe facing the problem of traffic congestion whenever people travel within cities. I agree with the increasing on car ownership and I believe if governments take some action plan, this issue can be solved to a certain extent. In this essay, I will discuss my perspective on the mentioned statement and will recommend some measures that government can consider to discourage people to use their cars.

In my opinion, the car ownership increases over the years is due to it is the most convenient means of transport for the people living in the cities. The car can travel them to the place where public transports could not be reached such as the working places and schools. By owning a car, they do not have to rush to the office by waking up early in the morning to take trains or buses. However, as the cities are now ‘one big traffic jam’, people shall consider taking public transports to reduce traffic congestion in the cities.

Another reason contributes to the problem of traffic congestion is because the car retailers offer discounts to the people to attract them to buy new cars. Besides, the deposit the buyer has to pay is very low and the car can be repaid with loan instalments at low interest. All these have caused the roads become very congested and people will have to take longer time on their journey to the destinations if they choose to travel by cars.

There are some suggested measures that governments can take to deal with this issue. Firstly, governments have to remove car subsidies so that people find the car as an unaffordable item. Secondly, the public transports should be upgraded in term of quality so that people find it comfortable taking trains and buses to schools and offices. For instance, when I travelled to Singapore last year end, I found the MRT service in Singapore was so excellent as the train can reach the destinations I wanted to travel, not to mention offices and schools. With this excellent service, I observed there were fewer cars on the roads.

The other measure governments can consider is the road taxes imposed on cars shall be raised. This will make people to reconsider whether to drive a car or take public transports as the raise in taxes means their burdens will be heavier. Another point worth to mention is to limit the number of cars driving on the roads. For instance, in China, the number of 8 on the car plate cannot be driven on the roads on Tuesday.

In summary, traffic congestion will bring air pollution to the cities. People shall think of the advantages and disadvantages of driving a car. It is worth to choose public transports if expenses on cars cannot be afford by people. It is important for governments to take some actions to deal with this issue.