As computers are being used more and more in education, there will be soon no role for teachers in the classroom. Do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that education and the learning process has changed significantly since the invention of computers. The search for information has become easier and amusing. We also update new information much more rapidly than in the past. Although computers are designed more and more intelligent, which becomes extremly useful for our study, it can’t replace teacher role in the class room.

First of all, nobody can argue that the acquisition of knowledge is more fun and easier with computers. we can get a variety of knowledge through the internet. Nonetheless, not all the information you can search for on the internet are exact and worth studying, so how can we know which sources of information is reliable and right. Teachers are one who can help you pick out approriate sources of information to study rather than accquiring all the information available on the Internet. As computers are becoming a common tool for teaching, teachers should be more aware of their role as guides in the acquisition of knowledge rather than transmitters of facts.

Secondly, to my way of thinking, teachers not only instruct and transmit knowledge available in books and internet but also share their own experience to students. They provide students with useful knowledge accumulated on themselves that can’t be found in any sources. Teacher may explain complex and hard concepts for students which can hardly mimicked by a computer, no matter how sophisticated its software is.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that teachers still have an important role to play in the classroom, especially at the primary level. No matter how complex computers become, they have not yet a substitute of the human interaction in the learning process.