Nowadays, full-time university students tend to focus on their study. Some people think it is essential for university students to be involved in other activities. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The topic of whether full-time university students should be involved in activities besides their major study is of concern for many people. Some suggest that it is beneficial for students to participate in extracurricular activities while some others disagree. As for me, I strongly agree the former.

Those who believe students should only concentrate on their studies hold the following reasons. Firstly, the major study is the first priority for university students. As the aim of higher level education is to convey academic knowledge and train students become a qualified job candidate, undergraduates should spare no effort on their courses without being disturbed by irrelevant activities. Secondly, the university subjects are time-consuming and challenging,thereby pressurizing students already with great an amount of assignments and exams. They will have difficulties when managing enormous tasks in the same time, which may lead to anxiety and stressful.

However, there are opposing voices. Some people insist that taking part in, for example, unpaid charity works and major related part-time job can help youths develop practical skills and gain more professional experience. To start with, it offers teenagers with a wealth of knowledge. Working in community organisations will grant students with an opportunity to meet people of different cultural backgrounds, abilities, ages and educations, allowing them to learn the ethical values from diverse individuals and enhance the quality of life experience. Besides, an internship helps people to put their theoretical knowledge into real life practical. Through a casual work or professional experience, students will gain more insider skills and deeper insight of their major, which can be considered an asset in their CV.

To sum up, there is no question that extra activities will benefit students. Thus, I will encourage them to take part in different types of activities as long as they are able to maintain their study in the university.