In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge an

In these days and age, the education becomes an integral part of a student’s future. Having a universal degree definitely helps young graduates to enter in a job market easily. In the last fifty years, students studied in their own nations, whereas nowadays they have more opportunities to pursue a university degree in overseas. This development has both advantages and disadvantages to an individual part and national part that will be discussed carefully in this essay.

To begin with, there are many benefits of studying overseas as a student will become more self-reliant and mature since he/she has to does things by himself/herself. For example, when I had to study in the US for a summer course, I became independently and did all basic house works by myself, even though I had not done before in my own country. Moreover, living in aboard also enlarges social circles and expends a student’s horizons as a student has a chance to meet a wide range of people from different cultures and experiences other customs. Learning other languages is also another beneficial aspect of studying a foreign university.

On the other hand, the opportunity in overseas educations also holds several drawbacks. Firstly, with a better standard living in other developed countries, students from developing countries gravitate to live permanently in those industrialized nations. Take Chinese students as an example, they tend to enroll in a university in developed countries such as Canada or Australia and get a chance to employment in a long term rather than coming back to China. Secondly, culture shock is also another though situation that a person has to face with. Dealing with homesickness can lead to depression and other mental illnesses, if a person does not know how to cope with this new custom and adjust himself/herself to live in a new environment.

In conclusion, the benefits of studying overseas is that an individual is able to stand on his/her feet and acquires valuable aboard experiences, whereas the drawbacks of this practice affect directly to the development of his/her nation as the brain drain consequences and a person might develop the mental conditions from homesickness. Personally, the benefits still outweigh the drawbacks.