Some people think painting and drawings are as important as other subjects, they should be compulsory in high school education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, some schools, especially high schools, tend to cut art classes such as painting and drawings from the compulsory courses considering that these subjects will split students’ focus and do not have direct benefit to their further education. In my opinion, art classes shouldn’t be removed from students’ curriculum.

Although some might take a skeptical attitude towards art lessons and believe that painting and drawings take up too much time for students’ studying. With the increasingly competitive college entrance exam, teachers and parents expect students put more time into academic subjects instead of doodling and scribbling. Also, unless for those individuals who make a living doing art, educators contend that art-related courses bear little relevance to one’s future job-seeking.

Others argue that art courses are as indispensable as the other core courses such as maths and chemistry. To begin with art cultivate students’ creativity and imagination. That means, one can draw a world with different combinations colors and shapes to foster his ability of innovation. Besides, art could mould one’s temperament, enhance his art accomplishment, instill confidence into his heart. Also, a number of students are now over burdened with exam –oriented and exercise-stuffed education. They sometimes feel fed up with school life, thereby, studying art can be considered as an effective stress reducer.

To conclude, What I want to affirm is that utilitarian mentality will inevitably hinder one’s all around development and deprive students of enjoyment brought about by art learning. It is advisable and feasible to encourage those who in the formative years to acquire paintings and drawings.