You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Some people think that parents should have control over their children’s activities while others think that children should be allowed to decide what they want to do. Discuss both the views and give your opinion. Write at least 250 words.

Some people hold the opinion that parents should exercise control over their young ones, albeit, others oppose this statement. Whether adults should decide on the tasks to be performed by their kids for their wellbeing and proper development, is a highly contentious topic. Both these topics would be analysed throughout the essay before reaching to a conclusion.

On one hand, children, who are given the liberty to decide their own activities often develop independent thoughts. They get habituated to taking their own decisions themselves. For instance, children who grow up in places, distant from their parents, would normally be inclined to taking control over their tasks. They might even consider taking shortcut ways to fulfil their needs. Often, this could grow as much as indulging them in committing crimes in lieu of small monitory benefits.

On the other hand, parents provide proper ethics and principles when they assume complete control over their young ones. This would lead to children in getting proper guidance from their elders. For example, guardians in the house can guide in filtering television programs that are allowable for young children to watch. Otherwise, there are a variety of channels available that ranges from programs with good lectures to movies using coarse languages, the latter being harmful to kids. Parents while staying in the house would be able to select appropriate programs for their kids as they have enough knowledge on the subject. Also, a kid could receive care and diligence from their near and dear ones at home which would help in shaping their attitude.

Overall, it seems from points above that parents play an important role in an all round development of their kids. Therefore, control over their activities is important for a kid to becoming a better human in future.