Advantages and Disadvantages of Giving Heavy Punishment to Reduce School Violence

Some people believe that inflict heavy punishment on naughty students who behave aggressively towards their friends is an efficient solution to prevent school violence. However, in reality, such a solution has both merits and demerits.

On the one hand, it is true that people see some benefits of meting out harsh punishment to reduce school violence rates. One of the good points worth being mentioned is that it raises pugnacious pupils’ awareness about the serious consequences of disobeying peacekeeping rules at school. In this way, that level of chastisement could also serve as a deterrent to others students and preclude them from doing similar misbehavior. Furthermore, it has been shown that severely disciplinary actions would help teacher control students who violate school rules and regulations more easily and make those children respect the authority on pain of punishment.

On the other hand, heavy punishment has some noteworthy negative effects on the lives of students. Firstly, it deprives violent students of a chance to be understood, to be sympathized, to change himself and to reintegrate back into society. For example, a pugnacious pupil who is suspended from school and despised by his family and friends is likely take revenge of society because he believes that he is outcast and he finds his life no longer meaningful. Secondly, some kinds of heavy punishment like corporal or physical punishment would create an atmosphere of fear and anger at school, cause mind and body injuries and set a bad example for students.

In conclusion, people should be aware of the positive and negative impacts of inflicting harsh punishment on violent students to find the best way to reduce school violence