Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

In today's society, due to inexpensive and user-friendly technological devices, it is increasingly common that people all over the world prefer home-based working and education to workplace and school environment. In my opinion, I strongly believe that this is a negative phenomenon as it will affect adversely not only the productivity of adults but also the learning quality of students.

One of the major issues associated with this is that workers are likely to experience a lower level of productivity. The reason is that they are easily distracted by home atmosphere, which is less formal. A case-in-point is that those who have children would have difficulty fully concentrating on their work because of parental care for children. Consequently, parental roles will prevent them from performing as well as when they are at the office.

Another worrying problem is that students would suffer from lack of social contact. If children learn at home, they will not have the opportunity to make friends and have face-to-face communication with their partners. Furthermore, since students don't have to go to school to study, they lack the chance to apply practical knowledge through experiments. As a result, when growing up, they will have to struggle to pick up new skills, settle down or well integrate with the society.

To recapitulate, it is undeniable that advanced technology has made it easier for individuals to work or study at home. Nevertheless, I personally reckon that this is an undesirable development as distant working and learning will lead to a decline in work efficiency for adults and a dearth of interaction for students.