The average standard of people's health is likely to be lower in the future than it is now.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The health problems have become frequent and superfluous in last few decades. The speculation is that the situation will worsen in the future and health standards will become seriously compromised. While there are many factors that have led to this, the situation is certainly grave and future generations will suffer immensely due to this.

It could be argued that due to major breakthroughs in medical sciences, the life expectancy has improved as compared to past. The developments of pharmacological drugs and vaccines have eliminated many deadly diseases and people are able to live longer lives. In Asia, for example, thousands of children used to die due to small pox in first year of their lives. However, the vaccination prepared by Robert Koch has now successfully eliminated small pox from the world. Moreover, it seems that better sanitary conditions have stopped epidemics that used to happen in the past and killed large proportion of population in single outbreak.

However, living longer lives than past generations does not ensure better health standards. Since masses did not have access to therapeutic options, they focused on preventive measures and lived cautiously. Their diet consisted of natural foods and outdoor lifestyle involved massive amount of physical labor. However, the situation is completely opposite now. As public has access to safe and easy treatment options, it has become careless in its lifestyle choices. The consumption of fast food has massively increased and presence of physical activity is negligible. Resultantly, people are becoming victim of obesity, hormonal imbalances and diabetes in their early ages. These problems will worsen with advancing times because younger generation is either too busy or too careless to take care of its health. Statistics indicate that childhood obesity will become doubled in America in next ten years, creating a serious fall in health standards of the country. Moreover, the dependency of youngsters on computers and other machines is increasing with every passing day. This development alone is enough to eliminate any chances of fitness from their lives and they are likely to suffer from cardiovascular risks frequently in future.

Although it seems progress by mankind has successfully delayed death, in reality, quality of life has declined significantly. The health problems are growing and likely to become impossible to control in future. Therefore, it will be unquestionably correct to state that health standards will be severely compromised in future and next generation will be unhealthier than the current one.