To be labeled a ‘Work of Art’, a painting, sculpture or other art forms should display certain qualities that are unique. However, over the past century, there has been a decline in the quality of prize-winning artwork and it is now possible for quite ordinary pieces of art to be labeled ‘masterpieces ’ whilst true works of art pass unnoticed.

Do you agree or disagree?

There are rules used as a basis to justify the worth of an artwork. In the past, many artists in history have been recognized for achieving these qualities; displaying exceptional masterpieces like Da Vinci, Picasso, Michaelangelo, and Van Gogh to name a few. But in recent times, there have been new forms of art and new artists have emerged shrouding the real pieces that were ought to be works-of-art which I greatly disagree.

The rise of new artists and new forms of art does not mean the past art pieces are neglected. Since this generation consists of a new set of audience, the qualities sought in the past have changed. It all depends on the eye of these new judges that cause the new art form to be recognized along with the previous masterpieces.

The notion of how new arts that are considered today as a masterpiece are seen by some as not suitable work-of-art is unacceptable. This is the modern era, the taste of people have changed. If these exact people lived in the past, the kind of art that artists present today will also be possibly recognized as a work-of-art in the past. So, it is wrong to say that this considered modern work-of-art is not a true masterpiece.

Therefore, the past art pieces are not clouded by new artists’ pieces. Instead, it is still remembered in art museums and exhibits as the greatest arts of all time, inspiring new artists to create their own style and dominate the art industry by showcasing bold artworks.