It is argued that raising fuel prices is the most effective measure to address the problems of the environment. While this approach can potentially reduce the amount of emission emitted in the atmosphere, I believe that a global awareness campaign would be a more practical method to deal with the root causes of environmental problems.

Undoubtedly, increasing the cost of fuel can potentially cut down emissions in big cities, which pollutes the air. In reality, vehicles release vast amount of noxious fumes, such carbon dioxide or nitrogen, into the atmosphere every second, leading to increasingly more polluted. Thus, requiring individuals to pay higher costs for their journey can encourage them to less rely on their private vehicles, ultimately leading them to choose more environmentally-friendly modes of transportation, including buses or electric bikes. According to the Land transport authority, after the Singaporeance government implemented a 20% increase in fuel prices in 2019, there was a 2.2% rise in daily bus ridership in the first quarter, compared to the same period last years. This consequently leads to reduce private vehicles, which can limit the amount of fumes.

However, this measure does not fully address the underlying causes of environmental issues. Moreover, these problems can stem from various factors, such as the use of plastic bags when shopping or the use of harmful chemicals in industry and argiculture, which contaminates both land and water. Therefore, running a worldwide campain to raise customers’ awareness about the importance of environmental costs. Furthermore, this program promotes the use of eco-friendly practices in farming and manufacturing, including reducing the consumption of noxious substances and adopting renewable engery sources. Sweden has been implementing sustainable farming practices by reducing pesicide usage and organic farming, to promote biodiversity and mitigate ecological impact of argiculture.

In conclusion, while increasing fuel costs can reduce harmful fumes in the air by discourage people from using private vehicles, I am of the option that running a worldwide awareness campaign will be the most effective measure to deal with the underlying causes of environmental issues. I am also convinced that once this approach is taken, there will be more people being more awareness the importance of environmental protection.