Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’

How true do you think this statement is?

What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

The rate of buying new cars is increasing at such a high speed, that will become a serious issue in many cities around the world. There are many cities which are facing problems of frequent traffic jams and huge increase of traffic on roads at peak hours. Government must look into the increasing number of car ownership to tackle this issue.

I quite agree to the statement while returning from work to home I see more number of cars every day. So many times there are traffic jams which are also increasing day by day. The car ownership has tremendous growth because, the middle-class man wants to live luxurious life and travel together with his family. To have a car also increases the status of living in the society. To counter this, government should levy some taxes on having a car, to save this extra added tax people might not buy a car.

Many car manufacturing companies are introducing budget cars to target lower income people to buy a car. Also many banks provide a car loans on such low interests. This results in growing the number of car owners. The government should tell banks to raise the interest rates and also promotes the usage of public transport. Many people don’t use buses or trains due to lack of cleanliness and the damaged condition of public transports. Municipal corporation or transport authority perform fitness check and ensure proper maintenance of public transport vehicles. The frequency of local transport also be increased in high traffic area this will help to reduce the traffic-jam.

I believe if the government takes these measures promptly this will surely reduce the rising number of car ownership. It will help many cities by reduce in number of traffic jams.