Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam How true do you think this statement is What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars Give reasons

In today's world, having our own car is one of the desires of every individual. To fulfill their dreams, everyone is buying cars so that they can have an easy mode of transportation. This has led to a rapid increase in car ownership over the past thirty years to an extent that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam.

Increase in car ownership has led to a significant increase in traffic as well. Because of this issue, we now require 40 minutes to travel the same distance that was earlier been covered in 20-25 minutes. Also, lack of good public transport facilities is one of the factors that encourage citizens to buy cars. Even if there are adequate facilities for public transport, there is a major issue of safety and security of women. Hence, women prefer to travel in their own cars rather than public transport.

There are enumerable measures that the government can take to discourage people from using their cars. If public transport is improved and taxi service is easily accessible, people will surely prefer to use them rather than their own cars. Also, the taxi fares should be of reasonable amount. In Delhi, the government has started an 'odd-even' initiative. It means that for odd number of days of a month, only cars having odd numbers on their plates are allowed to be used for travelling. This measure has helped in reducing the traffic in the city of Delhi. Also, if train facilities are improved, people will use railway services for travelling long distances. This can help in reducing traffic on highways.

In conclusion, we can say that there has been a significant increase in traffic due to increase in car ownership. To tackle this problem, there are many measures that governments can take to discourage people from using their cars.