Competitiveness is a positive quality for people in most societies. How does competitiveness affect individuals?

Is it a positive or negative trend?

It is undeniable that competitiveness is one of the important qualification for people in most societies. In this essay, I will examine both positive and negative impacts of competitiveness in an individual level.

Competitiveness give a rise to various benefits to people. First and foremost, it enhances self-development in each persons. This is caused by a pressure to overcome the obstacles and their competitors. As a result, competitive people always dedicate themselves in learning and doing some practices for improving their skills to compete other people. Another point is that it could create a higher job opportunities and educational opportunities from their ambitions. A strong intention to be better than others drives these people in hard working as well as studying. Accordingly, these people might be more outstanding than other people and may be promoted more quickly than others.

On the other hand, there are several negative effects from being competitive. For one thing, stress from competitiveness affects to people’s health and mental problem. This is because there are many researches showing that a high level of pressure give a rise to many diseases. What is more, people with high competitiveness tends to have no trust in other people. Seeing that they tend to position others as their competitors, there are no real friends in their life leading to severe problems in living with other people as well as happiness in their life.

In conclusion, there are both positive and negative effects of competitiveness to each people. However, I encourage people to have competitiveness in some certain level which its pressure can not harm to their health and their social life as the exceeded level of competitiveness could lead to negative trend rather than positive side.