Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world Is it a positive or negative development

These days, there is a marked similarity between many countries since the same commodities are sold worldwide. I believe this is a negative development, which is as a result of globalisation and reduced travelling rates.

The reasons why nations have become similar are many and varied. First, the integration of different countries of the world had brought about economic migration. One obvious reason for this is that most large-scale industries have relocated to countries that are beneficial to them economically. They not only pay low taxes but also have easy access to an adequate power supply and cheap labour. As a result of this, employers pay their local workers' negligible wages compared to their work input. The production and assembling of the popular apple product in China are a good illustration of this. Also, owing to the cooperation and collaboration between developed and developing countries, in reducing the import duties on the products typically purchased, similar goods can be bought everywhere in the world.

In addition, aside from the negative effect of globalisation, the travel and tourism industry is severely affected. This is because people do not need to travel to invest in foreign commodities as long as they can easily be bought in their native countries. Take high-priced goods such as Chanel and Louis Vuitton, for example, world travellers typically go to Paris to purchase these luxury items. However, since they are being sold locally, travelling will be almost always unnecessary. Consequently, more established airlines are being forced to fold-up because there is a marked reduction in the number of tourists.

In conclusion, selling the same goods both locally and abroad has many drawbacks, which can bring about extortion on local employees and the disappearance of some businesses.