Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The world has become a global village due to the availability of similar goods all over the world. While some people believe that this trend has such adverse effects on worldwide market, others argue that it holds such potential advantages more than the negative ones. This essay will discuss both viewpoints and come to a reasonable conclusion.

On the one hand, the reason why I believe the convenience of buying the same products anywhere in the world leads to the first drawback: the reduction in domestic products. It is widely believed that a plenty of inhabitants is a fan of foreign goods, especially the number seems to increase in developing countries. With the likeliness of products sold everywhere in the world, a number of people would choose to support items from developed countries. This course of action would lead to the disappearance of several products. Another reason to disapprove of this trend is the loss of cultural diversity. We cannot deny the fact that clothes are liked to one’s culture. People are likely to ignore these conventional clothes in their own country as they can pursuit imported ones with nominal prices which they believe to have much more quality. Consequently, such development influences our cultural aspects negatively.

On the other hand, the condition in which people can choose to buy what they want everywhere in the world is greatly desirable due to various reasons. Primarily speaking, this trend creates a tough competitive environment market. This urges them to push themselves up, in order to revitalize their own brands. New inventions are introduced to attract customers. As people get better choices of products, there comes the higher quality as well as the more affordable prices. Moreover, this development can also promote local products of one’s country in another country. It will probably increase the productivity, reputation and sales, upgrade the economic level of one’s country.

In conclusion, this growth will have beneficial and detrimental effects on individual and on the country’s economy because every issue has its dual nature, so people should weigh the pros and cons to make it balance.