Countries should try to produce all the food for the population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the government should sustain citizens’ lives by encouraging food self-sufficiency instead of importing foods from other countries. Personally, I partly agree with this view because while food manufacturing can help create more jobs and save transportation costs, purchasing food might also lead to close international relationships and more healthy food competition.

On the one hand, there are several advantages of food production. The first one is that it offers more agricultural jobs for citizens, which can contribute to the decrease of unemployment rate. Consequently, farmers can manufacture more food and generate revenue for their country. Furthermore, food self-sufficiency assists people in reducing transportation costs. In other words, less money is spent on delivering food within the country as opposed to from overseas. As a result, people can save a significant amount of money to invest in other sectors such as accommodation or education.

On the other hand, we can gain benefits from importing food for several reasons. Firstly, because of the expansion of food supply, fair competition among companies is encouraged. For instance, some local food manufacturers try to raise their products’ quality to meet consumers’ needs. Secondly, global food trading allows countries to strengthen relationships with other nations. For example, America often import quality rice from Asian countries such as Vietnam or Thailand. If there were no international connections, economically disadvantaged countries would not receive any support or investments from other developing countries.

In conclusion, I claim that producing all food for the citizens leads to the higher employment rate and the lower delivering cost while international food trading can also bring about some benefits including the fairer food competition and the strong relationships among countries.