A country becomes more interesting and develops more quickly when its population includes a mixture of nationalities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that a country where residents are from a wide variety nationalities can become more intriguing and see more rapid developments. I completely agree with the opinion that it will be more interesting, while I strongly disagree with the view that it will develop more quickly.

The reason why I agree with the opinion that a multiethnic country can be more fascinating is that it provides multicultural experience for residents and visitors without traveling abroad. Restaurants in Malaysia serve a shining example. People can find and enjoy an authentic Indian dining and a Chinese restaurant within a walking distance. Moreover, guests can obtain an excellent opportunity to learn various languages at the restaurants because they can hear conversations between native speakers of each language and possibly interact with them, speaking their language.

On the other hand, I disagree with the view that such a multiethnic nation develops more rapidly because it takes much time before developing the country to conclude different opinions from distinct values and cultures. A multiethnic society consists of residents having diverse ways of thinking, which often makes it extremely difficult to achieve a unanimous agreement on a single social matter. Fifty years ago, Singaporean government had to turn down a plan to construct motorways nationwide because Chinese people and Indian people opposed it for their own religious reasons.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that a nation which has a mixture of nationalities can be more attractive because of a multicultural experience obtained in one country, but I opposed to the statement that it develops in a more rapid pace due to the difficulty of having agreement among different ethnicities.