Limited access to education has led children in remote locations to live under poor conditions. Schools and teachers, accordingly, are believed to a long-term solution, which will guarantee a better life for disadvantaged children. However, others argue that technology is the master key to this issue. In this essay, I will discuss both these views before giving my own opinion.

There is not any difficulty to understand why the role of schools and teachers is highly acclaimed. Unlike developed nations, many rural areas have faced a severe teacher and school shortage, leading to illiteracy among children. Therefore, erecting more schools would help rural pupils acquire new knowledge as well as social skills more easily, all of which are conducive to their mental and physical development at early age. Apart from this, rural communities can gradually escape from poverty through far-reaching changes in education.

On the other hand, without the help of technology, children in remote villages will have many difficulties in access to education. The reason is due to geographic barriers. Since the distance from their home to school is far and they often go to school on foot, dropping out often occurs. Therefore, by equipping young children with online lessons or programmes, they can self-study at home without having to go to class or being completely dependent on teachers. Also, this is a good chance for them to familiarize themselves with online education – a state of the art educational mode.

In my view, schools and technology play an equally important role in rural and remote education because both have their own values. The concerted action between these factors, therefore, will promise disadvantaged children a better studying condition.