By making best use of technology, flexible working such as working from home has been possible. Older workers as they approach retirement, young people who may want to study while they work and females with children have especially benefited from it. However, there are benefits and drawbacks of working from home. I will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of it with relevant examples.

Talking to the advantages first, one of the most positives is that you have freedom. That is to say, you don't have to bury your nose in strangers' armpits on crowded trains instead you can unwind on sofa watching movies and work in pyjamas at home. Undeniably, it can create good work and life balance.

Another tangible benefit is the potential to save money in terms of office space, which is one of the biggest overheads for small and medium sized businesses. In other words, the rising cost of office spaces eats into company profits. One less work station could mean one step closer towards moving to smaller site.

Turning to the other side of the argument, one of the major drawbacks is that you are less likely to be promoted since companies still reward presenteeism. What I mean by this is that, managers often rate those at office to be more dependable and industrious, regardless of the quality of their work. So visibility creates the illusion of value. For instance, being last one to leave the office impresses bosses even if you are larking around on facebook.

Another potential drawback is financial and emotional. Take travel for instance. You are paying for travel to and from home. Over and above that, your insurance may demand higher premium if they know you are driving long distances twice a week to work based address. Emotionally, how strong will be your marriage be seeing your partner for just 3 days 4 nights a week? And a voice on phone for a few minutes is no substitute for sitting on the sofa together all evening.

To sum up, there are clearly positives and negatives of working from home. I personally believe that it is not an easy option.