Education in financial management should be a mandatory component of the school program To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

In this contemporary era, a need for financial education is under a debate among economist. While a stratum of society insist that finance needs to be a part of curriculum, others disagree with the statement. Although I partially agree with this view, still I will delve into both the views.

Any activity involving cash will come under the aspects of Finance. As everyone in their day to day life deals with money, it is important to educate them about how to effectively handle cash. Financial education teaches the students to understand the significant of savings by preparing budget and analyzing. This helps them to identify and cut down their spending’s on unnecessary things. For Instance, The Institute of Cost Accountants of India has made an initiative and regularly conducting programs on finance to the school kids, to educate them on the importance of finance in daily life.

However, adding financial education as part of school program will increase the burden and mental stress on children. Instead of making finance as a mandatory component, it can be introduced to kids as an optional subject and not as part of assessment. By learning and analyzing calculations, they might become over stressed and calculative at a very young age. In the recent study by the Stanford University it was found that 7 out of 10 kids were already pressurized by the existing curriculum, adding further subjects will over burden the kids.

To conclude, I personally believe that although financial education has some positive effects, still there are few drawbacks in obligating this at schools.