The availability of food in developing and developed countries has seen a tremendous increase in recent decades. Unfortunately, so the amount of food thrown away has increased, both in commercial and housing. In this essay, I will discuss about the reasons for this phenomena and how it can be addressed.

Firstly, the main reason for the increase in wastage of food is the lack of planning skills among the masses. People are so busy; they do not plan about their healthy meals but relay on quick bites. For example, most of the working professionals do not do their groceries on regular bases, but only buy the stuff for the next day or believe in eating outdoors. Due to this, the food cooked in houses is wasted, and more dependence on restaurants gives a rise to commercial wastage.

Secondly, restaurants are keen to serve fast and fresh, so they keep half cooked food, which is perishable in nature, and to be consumed in limited time. However, the readiness of restaurants results in wastage. The restaurants do plan their meals, but there are chances that they might not reach the daily target of consumption. Moreover, they are even reluctant to give away the food items as it might affect the reputation.

The solution to the causes, however are quite simple. The NGOs can be active, as they can spread awareness for the proper give away methods. For example, an Indian Ngo Feeding India has initiated a campaign to collect the food from the restaurants or houses and distribute it to the poor and needy mankind. Even, the government can take initiative in making some laws about the total food to be cooked in a given day according to the customer’s visits. Moreover, individuals can become more conscious and plan their meals in a wise manner to nullify the wastage, or they can directly give away the left food to the poor.

To conclude, food is very important for living, and its wastage is a sin. So, the humans should be extra conscious and make the best of the food rather than throwing it in the bins.