Is freedom of speech necessary in a free society?

Give reasons for your answer.

A growing number of people believe that right to speak freely remain truly fundamental to people in society whereas others claim that it becomes particularly harmful. I completely agree with the idea that right to express, speak and write is really necessary to protect everyone from all walks of life.

On the one hand, we must acknowledge that such rights can bring out voices of hatred, untruthful rumours and violence. To illustrate, in Nepal in the year 2002, there was breaking news which came through the main newspapers and televisions stating that it is one of the parts of an India which was stated by one of the top most Bollywood actors in a interview. When Nepalese population heard the news, it incited violent hatred against the Indian celebrities. As a result, the Indians living in Nepal were brutally attacked by native populations. Subsequently, it sparked widespread unrest and government was forced to deploy huge numbers of armed police to control them. Upon extensive investigation, they came to conclusion that there was no truth in the rumour.

However, on the other hand, it is undeniable that these entitlements are imperative in work place. Generally speaking, some employers are relatively impartial against their particular employees in respect of sexes, colours and religions. If they continue to dominate their workers, there are strong possibilities that these staff may tolerate it due to growing fear of losing job. Therefore, provided free rights, the common cultures such as genders, racial discriminations can be eliminated effectively.

In addition, given rights, social media can have huge impact in effective legislation. To demonstrate, In India, a powerful political leader was indirectly involved in kidnapping crime. However, police were not able to apprehend the elite leader. As the news was broadcasted of his direct involvement, population discovered the actual truth. So, the government was bound to arrest the culprit politicians due to constant pressure from public. If journalists were banned from free expression of writing and speech, the victim would not have gotten justice. Which is why we can say beyond doubt that first amendment proves absolutely indispensable.

It is logical to conclude that even though there are negatives about freedom of speech, it has remained unavoidable in prohibiting prejudice and shielding each people from all steps of their life.