Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem.

What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In many regions in the world, fresh water is a paramountly important, yet scarce resource. For example, a vast majority of African people are living with insufficient clean water sources. Furthermore, as the needs of water are increasing sharply, the problem seems to become universal. In this essay, I will give some explanations for the rising demand of water and the measures that could be taken to address the issue.

There are some major factors which contribute to the rise in the global water usage. To begin with, the expansion of mass productions is likely to be the most significant reason. It has long been documented that among the purposes of using water, agricultural and industrial productions account for a great deal of the usage. Since the industries in many countries, especially the developed ones, are growing rapidly, the need of water for productions skyrockets. Moreover, people's daily activities also consume more water than in the past. This is because the global population is rising rather steadily, with some nations having the annual rates of birth above 5%, which is relatively high.

In order to tackle the issue of water shortage, actions from both the governments and citizens are required. First of all, it is crucial for the authority to regulate people's use of water. For instance, families that exceed the monthly threshold of water usage would have to pay noticeably higher fees; or companies have to prove that they can efficiently ultilize the resource, otherwise they will not be permitted to operate. For individuals, people should raise their own awareness of the importance of saving water, as well as the methods to implement it. Having these measures acted on, the problem would hopefully be relieved.

All in all, water, one of the most essential resources to humans, has become inadequate due to the expanding population and the growth of agricultures and industries. Thus, people have to take a range of actions in order to ensure the sufficient water supply for everyone.