The gap between the rich and the poor is increasingly wide, as rich people become richer and poor people grow poorer. What problems could this situation cause? What are the solutions to address those problems?

As the world progresses, the class discrimination between 2 classes in the society is getting worse because the rich is more and more wealthy; otherwise, the underprivileged are living on the breadline. This may trigger some severe problems for the economy and social security and they should be taken by the authorities.

The widen gap between the poor and the rich will increase the risk of social discontentment and economic crisis. Firstly, because of unequal distribution of wealth, people who come from disadvantaged background often perceive that the wealthier are preventing them from occupational and service opportunities. They properly instill a sense of depression, which can cause high rate of crime commitment and threaten social order. Secondly, as for the economic aspect, the income inequality is closely linked with economic crisis. For example, the USA witnessed a great downturn in GDP of American citizens in 2008 due to the high rate of unemployment and unequal distribution of wealth. It is clearly that the wider the class gap between upper class and lower class is, the worse the economy becomes.

Fortunately, several initiatives can be taken to address these 2 pressing issues. On the one hand, the government should impose higher taxes on the rich and then use that revenue properly to alleviate poverty. This is of great importance because the amount of income tax from wealthy individuals and institutes will contribute greatly to state budget thereby welfare policies such as unemployment benefit and poverty alleviation programs can be implemented. On the other hand, social security should also be tightened to prevent the disadvantaged from extreme or illegal actions because they are usually tempted by extremists with some money to cause terror or commit crime.

In conclusion, the acceleration of crime rate and economic chaos are significant consequences of the wide socioeconomic gap and appropriate steps should be taken to tackle the problems.