Genetic engineering is an important issue in modern society. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth.

Discuss both the views and give opinion

The process of manipulation of DNA using technology which is called as genetic engineering, became the most discussed issue as the society advances. While some argue in the favor of genetic engineering’s necessity to improve human lives, others are threatened by its devastating consequences. Despite the continuing discussions regarding its pros and cons, genetic engineering may help humankind as well as other living entities if used appropriately.

Genetic engineering has made human life a lot easier in many ways. Modification of genes, be it in plants or in humans, has lots of benefits, including treatment of genetic disorders that were once incurable, increase the output in agricultural sector and so on. For instance, genetically modified rice is sown and harvested within three months of duration, while the naturally existing crop takes a year to produce the yield. Thus, the demand for food is met by employing genetic engineering technology.

Consequences of genetic engineering that may be devastating and irreversible threaten a lot of people to not rely on it. Firstly, the adverse effects to health that arise due to consumption of genetically engineered crops and secondly, the long-term results that are still unknown are often believed to be grave like extinction of a species. For example, the increase in the incidence of urinary bladder cancer and availability of genetically altered brinjal to humans were well correlated by certain genetic researches.

In conclusion, in this new-age world, genetic engineering has gained a lot of attention; However, certain people are still terrified of its consequences while argue in its favor. Even though, genetic engineering may harm in some ways, its properties of curing genetic disorder and increasing the yield in agriculture to meet demand are inevitable benefits.