Global warming is one of the most serious issues that the world is facing today. What are the causes of global warming and what measures can governments and individuals take to tackle the issue?

Over the last few centuries, the global temperature maintained a stable balance, which made almost people forget about the importance of it. However, these days, a remarkable increase in the temperature of the Earth has triggered crisis all over the world. This essay will look at the reasons for this and propose some solutions.

One of the main causes of the problem is emission of carbon dioxide. Carbon dioxide, which damages the ozone layer, comes from lots of sources, but the most problematic are those from industries and traffic vehicles. The increase in the number of vehicles and factories comes along with the growth of the population. This release thousands of tonnes of carbon dioxide every year. Moreover, burning fossil fuels in demand of heating, cooking and lighting is another source of harmful gases. Another factors include the deforestation. The paper and timber industries consume a very large number of trees every year, which are responsible for the health of forests. Trees and other plants is known to be able to clean the air by absorbing odors and pullutant gases, as well as reduce heat. However, activities involving planting trees are not enough for the consumption of trees, which imbalances the ecological environment.

Nevertheless, there are potential ways to tackle this issues, or at least reduce the affects. Goverments have the biggest responsibilites to do so. There is a need to reduce the dependence on fossil fuels and promote alternatives. It may be possible to introduce laws against industries from releasing harmful smokes in the air. The illegal cutting of the forests should be banned and have severe punishment for this. Besides, it is individuals to have duty on this problem. Instead of driving, people should use public transport or cycling more often. This will be both economically and ecologically safe. The other solution to prevent global warming is stop cutting and burning forest for cultivation.

To sum up, the Earth has got warmer and warmer due to reasons such as carbon emission and deforestation. This is a serious issue. Action must be taken urgently, otherwise life of our future generations will suffer. I am of the view that both goverments and individuals have responsibility for solving the problem.