Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Opinion are divided as to whether governments should spend more budget on railway system rather than road system or not. In my opinion, I totally agree with the statement due to many issues like global warming and traffic problem came from using car mostly.

Based from statistics and researches, around 80% of greenhouse gas are released by car, and number of personal cars in 2019 increases significantly from 10 years ago. Nowadays, our world is confronting hot temperature in many places that was colder before, for example, ice glaciers are now melting due to higher temperature in North Pole. This is the problem that we need to fix it as soon as possible which one possible solution is reducing the number of cars. Most people think of personal car is the most flexible and comfortable way for moving from place to place because they are now lacking of appropriate railway system like subway or sky train.

Therefore, it is the time government should support the idea of railways more than ever. Firstly, Japan is the best model for this, having over 100 million of populations but excellent traffic conditions even in capital city like Tokyo that because there are fantastic subways that connects everywhere within city and between city. So, demand of using car reduces significantly, and it is followed by lower air pollution. To do that, governments have to obstruct people from using car as much as they can by increasing tax or gas, developing railways at the same time. We all know, changes cannot be happened suddenly, it only has to do gradually but right now we need some sign of revolution.

In conclusion, using car is made a lot of global issue but it is the most common transportation by this century. One of the best solutions is to reduce car usage and develop other transportation instead.